A hat for Dr. C

Dr. C has the sort of bedside manner that helps to put you at ease.

Despite the high volume of folks that come from far and wide to see Dr. C, the consultations are never rushed or hurried. One feels in the presence of a good friend. There’s an equality and capaciousness in Dr. C’s style of care: there’s space to speak, to be heard, space for different approaches and alternatives to be weighed.

Dr. C is often found at the clinic after hours, long past closing time, in order to make sure each person is attended to. Dr. C comes out of the office to greet people individually by name in the waiting room. Dr. C will offer a warm hello or an apology for the wait.

When the weather is perilous, or a patient is too ill to come in, it is not unknown for Dr. C to drive cross-city to make house-calls – a practice known in the heyday of doctoring, but uncommon these days in the places I’ve lived (even more so considering that the house-visits might be made off-hours, at the end of Dr. C’s already full workday).

Where other doctors maybe can’t help but treat patients, symptoms, and illnesses, Dr. C is conscious about treating people. Simply put, Care is Dr. C’s career and calling.

I made Dr. C a hat as a way to say thank you for the many hours of mindful care. This knit is a 2nd go at Melissa LaBarre’s Icehouse hat. Knitting it for the second time, it was easier to anticipate and get around the crown decreases (my new strategy was to position the markers, where the decreases occur, roughly in the center of each DPN rather than at the edges as I’d done before).

hat for dr c.JPG

During one consultation, Dr. C shared 2 things:

First, he imparted a few proverbs from Buddhist/Chinese philosophy. At first, I found this sudden and unsolicited turn to ethics a bit odd. He wrote these principles down in Chinese, translated each one, then handed me the paper – a kind of prescription for the soul. I think the principles are at the heart of Dr. C’s own medical and ethical practice, and bear repeating.

Second, Dr. C. reminded me of a Chinese poem that I hadn’t heard since I was a child: “Quiet Night Thoughts” by Tang Dynasty poet, Li Bai. Taught to school children in China, and widely recited, the poem expresses the homesickness of a scholar who has to leave his hometown (back in Chicago, I suppose I relate). 🙂

Both “Quiet Night Thoughts” and Dr. C’s prescription are below.

To your health.


Quiet Night Thoughts, Li Bai

床前明月光

疑是地上霜

舉頭望明月

低頭思故鄉

Before my bed
There is bright-lit moonlight
So that it seems
Like frost on the ground:

Lifting my head
I watch the bright moon
Lowering my head
I dream that I’m home.

(translation by Arthur Cooper. 1973. Li Po and Tu Fu: Poems Selected and Translated. London: Penguin Books).

 

Dr. C’s Prescription

To understand and to forgive is great wisdom.

To accommodate others is great wisdom.  (in the doctor’s explanation: to approach differences not with the will to quarrel, but to pave the way for understanding. One accommodates not to submit, but “to be able to educate”)

The greatest value is to remember those who have helped you.

Contentment is the greatest wealth. (“This one’s the most important,” Dr. C explained).

15 thoughts on “A hat for Dr. C

  1. What a wonderful tribute! Dr. C sounds like someone anybody would be lucky to know. It seems absolutely right that you knit him such a beautiful hat. Thank you for sharing this on your blog.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dr. C gives wonderful prescriptions. Shirley – did you make the hat a bit longer than the pattern? This would be a great pattern for the yarn my mom gave me – I would just want it a bit slouchier (is that a word? Lol) than the pattern photo shows. It looks like you my have done this as well as there is a folded brim in your photo?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mo. 🙂 I agree – the beautiful skeins of grey yarn would make a very splendid hat!

      I did knit the hat longer than the pattern. Instead of leaving only 5″ before the crown decreases, I knit around 8″ to be able to fold a brim. Longer works, too, depending on the slouch/extra room you’d like. 🙂

      So excited to read about your new yarn! Thank goodness for moms!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Wow, you certainly have a good and wise doctor! I think he deserves the great hat you have made. I love the way it is finished at the top. Little details make all the difference.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

