Two faces

jkbyomurs

Two faces today.  I got the idea for the second while perusing a pair of jeans at a thrift shop.  “Dear Darlin” started playing in the background and, finding myself more and more susceptible to pop music of late, I went home to google the singer…  Maybe this is a sign of age, but my musical immune system isn’t what it was during my critical and selective youth.  These days, music comes in through the ears–while doing groceries, or walking down the street, or in a cafe–and tends to stay where it ends up, looping through my head at the strangest moments.

The first face was an exercise in feathering–a technique common to comics for making gradations from dark to light.  Any tips and tricks out there on how to actually feather with a brush?  I’ve been practicing for many months, and am beginning to think that the manual dexterity required to do it is beyond human.

Materials-wise, lots of ink under ink here.  I discovered that mixing my green with my red  produced… purpleDoes this not defy the long-standing principles of colour theory?  Oh, the strange and secret properties of ink and it’s magical chemistry…

Leave a Reply

